Martial Arts

Hsing-Yi Ch’uan
Introduction to Hsing-Yi Ch’uan

No prerequisite.

Hsing-Yi Ch’uan is an internal exercise emphasizing movement in a straight line. It uses the 5-element theory of production and destruction to govern its postures.

Hsing-Yi can be practiced hard or soft, fast or slow, and is an excellent exercise for anyone. The introduction course includes:

  • San-t’i standing practice & meditation
  • 5 Elements
  • 5-Elements change form, cover form, and sensitivity
  • Theory & principles: 9-joint harmony; start together, stop together; exploding power; 3 powers; 80/20 ratios, and more.

Continuation of Hsing-Yi Ch’uan

Prerequisite: Introduction to Hsing-Yi Ch’uan


  • Pa-Shih (8 Styles). Pa-Shih is one of the oldest forms of Hsing-Yi Ch’uan.
  • 12 animal forms. The 12 animals cover a variety of movement for every conceivable body type.

Pa-Kua Ch’uan
Prerequisite: You must start with Level I and progress to higher levels.

Level I: Basics

  1. Standing
  2. Waist strengthening
  3. 2 basic hands
  4. Medicine ball, sand ball, bean bag
  5. Circle walk
  6. Hook step & swing step
  7. Palm strikes
  8. Low kicks
  9. Single palm change
  10. Bridge hands
  11. Trapping
  12. Double palm change
  13. Ch’in-Na joint-locking techniques
  14. Blocks & defenses
  15. 8 inner palms
  16. 4 basic sticking hands
  17. Master Choi’s weight routine
  18. Master Chan’s forearm conditioning

Level II: 64 Palms

  1. Original 64 Palms
  2. Yao San Sam Sao
  3. Pa-Kua deer horn knives

Level III: Swimming Dragon

  1. Swimming Dragon Form
  2. Chase Hands

Liu Ho Pa Fa
Completion of the 12 Animal forms and permission from the instructor are prerequisites for Level II and Level III. These classes contains both solo and partner work.

The twelve animals are the foundation practice of Liu Ho Pa Fa (sixharmonies and eight methods), an internal martial art developed by Chen Hay-I, a noted mathematician and Taoist who lived in Shansi province in the 10th century during the Sung dynasty.

Liu Ho Pa Fa is still relatively unknown as it has only recently begun to be taught publicly. Because of this fact, the style’s lineage and teachings have retained a high level of integrity and authenticity. Wai-lun Choi is the current lineage holder of the style from whom we at the studio received our training.Choi succeeded Chan Yik-Yan, the previous grandmaster.

The 12 Animals practice consists of twelve short forms based on the fighting techniques, instincts, and spirit of various animals. The forms train the body to move harmoniously externally and internally. External harmony refers to the coordination of hands and feet, elbows and knees, shoulders and hips. Internal harmony refers to the coordination of mind and reflexes, qi and power. In addition to the solo practice, each animal contains a wealth of applications including strikes, locks, and throws based on the movement of each animal.

Level II includes instruction in the Mothers & Sons form.

Level II

Mother and Sons Linked Fist Form (Gee Mo Lin Wan Kuen)

Seven variations on ‘Battering Ram Fist.’ This form teaches sensitivity, sticking, trapping, strikes, locks and throws as variations on a single technique.  Includes solo and partner practices. Prerequisite: 12 Animals.

Level III

Main Form (Jook Gae )

Sections 1 and 2

This advanced form teaches how to harmoniously integrate long sequences of techniques into a variety of fighting situations. Includes solo and partner practices.

Prerequisite: Levels I and II

7-Star Praying Mantis
Praying Mantis imitates the four legs of a mantis and the footwork of a monkey. This makes for a very fast and agile system with intricate hand work and active foot work. Praying Mantis is excellent training for speed, strength and conditioning. Master Liang studied Praying Mantis and taught it to his T’ai-Chi students to help them coordinate soft and hard movements.

There is no prerequisite for Level 1. You must complete one level before moving to the next.

Level I : Blocking, Grabbing, Trapping

Level II : Sticking, Ch’in-na, Knock-downs

Level III : Intercepting, Sparring, Dim-Mak

Prerequisites: Must receive permission from the instructor and currently study T’ai-Chi Ch’uan at the studio. In addition, prospective students must observe one class before actively participating.

Eclectsis is a martial art system developed in the mid-1970s by Douglas Anderson, a martial artist with thirty years of experience in external and internal styles.

Anderson combined the essence of Southern Praying Mantis boxing, Western boxing, and street techniques to create a highly effective, striking-based martial art. Anderson complemented the style with a unique stretching method and speed training system.

The Eclectsis training curriculum includes:

  • The fundamentals of good outside and inside striking, utilizing the most efficient body mechanics to create maximum power with minimum energy expenditure.
  • Defense for all basic strikes and combinations, creating maximum protection with minimum movement to set up effective counter attacks.
  • Sticking and trapping techniques to develop feeling-based responses to inside fighting.
  • Natural and intelligent footwork that creates offensive attacks and essential defense.
  • Simple low kicking techniques that integrate well with striking combinations.
  • Solo and partner training.

Auxiliary weapons

  • Tamo sword
  • Cane form
  • San-Tsai fencing
  • Double knife
  • Man-Chiang Hung sword
  • Double sword
  • 9-section Chain Whip